Saints of Maen

Typeancient lore

The Saints of Maen were powerful Durkoth lords of the Lith-Crillion Era and the Horgon Era. They came to power by force of will, military might, and the ability to survive innumerable attempts on their lives. Since the Lith-Crillion Era, dozens have held the title Saint of Maen; with nearly all dying while trying to keep it. This title was tied to wearing a relic called a Torc of Maen Grirngrim. On Osâchar, there were thirteen major wars, the Torc Wars, over these ancient relics, with usurpers yearning for the glory and might of having one.

The Torcs of Maen Grirngrim are made of a substance that wavers in and out of reality - just like the material used in the Helas Vessels. The centerpiece of each torc is an orb holding the blood of some fell being, perhaps once a primordial, fallen angel, or other evil and chaotic omnipotent being. Some claim the blood was from a primordial defeated during the Creation War, a being that would create the first life-draining magic that became necromancy. This primordial was Maen Grirngrim. This could be why the torcs were named as such, but there is no proof that anything of Maen Grirngrim survived his supposed annihilation by the Golden Seven.

To be a saint and take on the powers of a near demigod being, one had to wear a Torc of Maen Grirngrim. When one died wearing these torcs, their soul was captured inside the torc's grisly orb. This trapped soul joined other previous wearers, with the next wearer gaining a few powers of all previous wearers. This had the effect of making the wearer of a Torc of Maen Grirngrim quite powerful, such that many viewed them as saints.

The wars and conflicts to claim the torcs resulted in massive loss of life and destruction. It led to the subjugation of three other peoples were to serve the Durkoth as slave soldiers and workers. These three peoples are the Theegans, the Sussgurd, and the Dromites.

In 159 HE, three Saints of Maen joined together as a confederacy that would evolve into the Horgon Empire (159 HE - 537 HE). The three Saints of Maen that founded this empire were Krak-Oth, Neld-Rac, and Rioch Tetrax. It is often said they only formed a confederacy to surivie the attacks by those looking to unseat them.

When the Helas Vessels came to Bal-Kriav, they landed far apart. With its masters separated by thousands of miles, the Horgon empire came to an end. The Saints of Maen came to rule empires on Bal-Kriav, until one day, they were taken to the Temple of Ascension where they ascended, becoming Cult Powers.

In the Durkoth Descent (995 HE - 1355 HE), those Durkoth that believed in the near-divine status of their Saints of Maen, came to be known as The Chosen; they would survive the mutation that affected all of Bal-Kriav's Durkoth while the heathens perished.